I can see you watching me!

Early finish Friday and as it was such a nice day I decided on a drive to Barbury Castle and a walk along Smeathes Ridge. Good views of a Little Owl on the way, it was interesting to see the way it kept opening its eyes to watch me as I was taking pictures.

In a field just south of the castle was a flock of Golden Plover. I counted one hundred and ten. Heading off along Smeathes Ridge it was all pretty quiet on the bird front. A few corvids and around two hundred Starlings aside, the first birds seen were a Meadow Pipit, a Skylark and three Stonechats. Not a bad little selection. Very little else seen along here. Back near the castle, three Red Kites were circling, a smart Yellowhammer and a dozen or so very noisy House Sparrows were by the old bungalow. I had to be gone by three so had no chance to look for Owls or Harriers. Maybe tomorrow if the weather is kind. On the drive down to Wroughton a Merlin was seen flying. Unfortunately it was the of the sub-species RAF Helicopter and not countable.

Leave a comment