Coate Water Contrast

My original intention today was to spend a couple of hours birding around Chilton Foliat. However, in contrast to last Friday in Majorca (38° and sunny compared to 13° and raining) the weather was pretty awful so instead I headed for one of the hides at Coate Water. Having got wet on the walk to the hide I settled down to eat my packed lunch and hopefully get some birds. Chiffchaff and Blackcap had been heard bravely singing in the rain on the way and I was quite surprised to see a few Sand Martins low over the lake. As far as I know none breed close by so maybe they are started to head back south, can’t say I blame them. On the water were sixty plus Mallard and at least twenty Coot along with half-dozen Cormorants. After a few minutes a few Swallows, a couple of House Martins and some Swifts appeared. Swift numbers built up to probably close to a hundred birds. Two Teal flew in and a single female Mandarin appeared as did a couple of Little Grebes. I had been hoping for Kingfisher and Common Sandpiper, both being needed for my Wiltshire year list but neither put in an appearance. As there was plenty going on I stayed for around ninety minutes ending up with thirty-one species on the list.

Leave a comment