Quiet Saturday

I had thought about a quick trip up the M4 to put the Buff-bellied Pipit on the year-list but decided against it when I saw the weather forecast. I didn’t get up until nine and then pottered around doing bits and pieces at home. Three Greenfinches on the peanuts in the front garden were the only bird action. A drive over to Coate Water to have my lunch in the far hide was next. Three Song Thrushes were the first birds seen. The Great White Egret was flying around when I arrived but soon dropped back down on the edge of the lake. There were plenty of ducks flying around as well with three Wigeon the best. Shoveler had returned after being absent for my last few visits. A calling Great-spotted Woodpecker flew in and a Little Grebe appeared in front of the hide. Moving on to the other hide another Woodpecker was seen. At the hide there were loads of small birds in the bushes, mainly Blue and Great Tits but a single Siskin was the first of the year. A look on the main lake showed no sign of the Smew or Red-crested Pochard that were reported earlier in the week but there were a few gulls and Goosander here. I then headed off for Barbury Castle with a quick look-in at Wroughton Reservoir on the way. Highlight here, ten Little Grebe. Barbury was very quiet with a few corvids and Wood Pigeon plus single Kestrel and Buzzard. Twenty or so Golden Plover were all that was left of the Golden Plover flock from yesterday.

2 responses to “Quiet Saturday

  1. A bitter day to be out and about Malcolm, I went without gloves and soon regretted it. My son lives next to QM reservoir and I was there last weekend but frustratingly couldnt get a view of the reservoir let alone get in there to find the pipit or duck. I had to put up with a first visit to Bushey Park where I got 2 Green Woodpeckers, the Egyptian geese on top of the cafe roof (and lots of parakeets!!).

    • It was a keen wind that’s for sure. Berkshire are having some good birds at the moment, Pallas Warbler today. Just shows what is out there if enough people are looking. I like Bushey Park, it isn’t far from my Mums house. Good for Lesser Spotted in the spring.

Leave a comment