One out of Three is Okay

Last year although I heard many Tawny Owls I didn’t actually see one. This year I have one in the bag already, seen sat in a tree over the road while driving through Savernake early this morning. Unusually during my many early mornings on the road I have not seen a Barn Owl for quite a while. Strange as I believe that they had a reasonable breeding year in 2016 so there should be a fair few about. Later on I checked Twitter before I left work and saw that Waxwings had been reported in Highworth. So that is where I headed. I met up with some other birders including the finder (thanks for getting the news out Neil) but unfortunately they had moved on. However it seems that good numbers are now moving south so hopefully we will catch up with some soon.As I was nearby I had another look in at Roves Farm. On the way I checked out a few bird in the roadside trees and managed to get my first Greenfinch of the year. Again no Cattle Egrets. It seems that they have moved on, a possibility backed up by a report of three in the Chippenham area today. I still had a bit of time left before the sun set so headed for Folly Farm to look for the Short-eared Owls. I only walked down to the copse but managed views of at least two that were hunting on the slope of the hill. Up to four were reported by others. Also seen here were a Kestrel, three Wrens and plenty of Fieldfare.

Leave a Reply

