Three Days Running

Following on from my walk to Liddington Hill on Wednesday I spent an hour or so at Coate yesterday and had a drive along the Kennet today. At a quiet Coate the best bird were Kingfisher, a Little Egret and three Wigeon. At around three a.m. this morning I was woken by a vocal Tawny Owl on the roof of the house, heard but not seen which was most annoying as I still haven’t actually seen one this year. This morning after a bit of shopping in Marlborough I stopped of at Froxfield where I was rewarded with five Snipe and singles of Green Sandpiper and Meadow Pipit. Chilton Foliat was very quiet with just a few Mallard and Gadwall on the wide water. There were at least fifteen trout beneath the road bridge. I then stopped at Axford for my lunch where again it was quiet. Grey Wagtail and Jay were seen along with six Swallows and a mixed flock of Sand and House Martins. Only a single bird of prey was seen on the whole drive, a Buzzard over Ogbourne St Andrew.

Leave a Reply

