South Coast Twitch

My original plan for today was to go to Franchises Wood in the south of the county to try for Wood Warbler and Redstart. However this changed with the arrival of a Stilt Sandpiper at Fishtail Lagoon Pennington. I had a medical appointment at Moredon at nine and after this I checked to see if the Sandpiper had stayed overnight. It had so it was game on. I usually do the drive south early doors and it takes well under two hours. Today it was nearer two and a half so it was just gone twelve before I was parking the car at Keyhaven. A brisk eyes straight ahead walk to Fishtail was interrupted by a couple of couple of Little terns flying across the path. When I reached Fishtail I could see a couple of birders on the far side of the lagoon. I walked round to where they were and a quick scan soon found the Sandpiper busily feeding in full view.A times it was close to a Blackwit and a Dunlin giving a good size comparison.IMG_3076 (1024x708) After watching for a while I headed further along the coast path to Jetty Lagoon where two male Garganey were showing well. Then it was about turn to head back to the car. A Spoonbill was on Fishtail and I spent a couple of minutes watching three Little Terns that were flying around. Reed Bunting, Reed, Sedge and Cetti’s were seen on the walk back as were Common Tern and plenty of Little Egrets.

Back at the car was was undecided whether to go to Acres Down or to stop off on Salisbury plain on the way home. In the end the Plain was the choice and I was rewarded with sightings of three Stone Curlew and a Grey Partridge along with three heard only Quail. Also noted were Corn Bunting, Stonechat, Meadow Pipit and thirty or more Skylarks.

Leave a Reply

