First Wiltshire Wheatear

I was awake early again this morning so got myself up and out to Folly Farm before seven.First birds seen were a flock of around a dozen Fieldfare, next a small flock of Linnets and a couple of Yellowhammers. At the copse were Blue Tit, Great Tit and Chaffinch. More Linnets, Yellowhammers and a couple of Corn Buntings were in the bushes in the first field. Initially I headed through the second gate and along towards the Ridgeway, along here is one of the Wheatears favoured areas. But not today. After a few minutes scanning I turned back towards the car checking out the rough grass as I went. I paid particular attention to one of the Badger Setts as Wheatears seem to like these as well. Probably good for insects on the disturbed ground. This time I struck lucky with a single Wheatear perched up on a pile of chalk. A walk up to the top gave me reasonable views before flew off out of sight.IMG_2737 (1024x682) On the way up I disturbed a couple of Meadow Pipits. On the way back the sun was just coming up over the hill and looking over to Wroughton Airfield I was surprised at how visible the new solar farm is. Another major change in the landscape.

In all I saw nineteen species, not bad for less than a hours birding.

 

Leave a Reply

