On the Way to Morrisons

With lots of stuff to catch up with at home it was to be a no birds day today. However I needed to go shopping and chose to go to Morrisons at Liden. On the sour of the moment I decided to pop-in for a quick look at Liden Lagoon a place I used to visit regularly but haven’t actually been there at all this year. On arrival it looked fairly quiet on the water with just a few gulls, geese, swans and ducks on show. By the time I had walked around the eastern side I had counted ten Gadwall, and singles of Tufted, Pochard and Shoveler along with a good number of Mallard, Coot and Moorhen. Reaching the main path by the houses I bumped into Liden regular and SBAW man Martin Adlam. This was quite fortuitous as he had just been watching a Water rail that I had missed. Wandering back a little way we soon found it again as unusually it fed out in the open for a good few minutes. A first for me at this site. A small flock of Siskins flew in and proceeded to feed low down in the scrub by the water. Finally we heard a brief bit of song from a Cetti’s, another new bird for the site for me. So in all a productive visit and a reminder to me that I need to keep visiting these other sites. Of interest I have often had my first of the year Common Sandpiper at Liden so another good reason to visit.

Leave a Reply

