Walking the Grey Wethers

This afternoon I had planned a stroll around Fyfield Down and although the conditions weren’t ideal with the cold wind I still went. There were loads of Pheasants around and also a few Partridges including a single Grey, my first in Wiltshire this year. A Jay was seen and then a Green Woodpecker was first heard and then seen as it flew up from the grass ahead of me. A walk through Totterdown Wood got me Robin, blackbird and Long-tailed Tit. Back out in the open I found a nice place to sit amongst the stones and in the shelter of a large Gorse bush. From here I just chilled out, enjoying the view and the solitude. It is just a wonderful area to visit, we are so very lucky with all the great places we have in Wiltshire. Three Red Kites and a Buzzard were soaring over the woods and the first of two Sparrowhawks flew over. Walking on I put up a flock of around thirty Meadow Pipits but there was no sign of an early Wheatear. A couple more Jays were seen but no sign of any Owls. On the walk back to the car I managed to find some more small birds, four Chaffinches and two each of Linnet and Yellowhammer. I ended the walk with a meagre total of twenty-two species. Not great for two hours but still well worth the effort.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

