Great Walk at the Water Park

Todat I finally got round to having a longish walk at the Water Park. I had a medical appointment in Moredon. After this I popped over to Redhouse to see if there was any sign of the Black Redstart from yesterday. There wasn’t. From there I headed out to the Waterhay car park. My route was along the Thames Path to the Reed hide where I would have my lunch and then to return on the path that runs alongside 68A and B. A couple each of Goldfinch and Redwing along with a singing Skylark from the car park started off the day list. Nineteen Mute Swans graced one of the fields adjacent to the Thames. In the reeds at 68C/D I heard at least four squealing Water Rails and a Cetti’s Warbler. From the old hide i managed a sighting of a Cetti’s. The first county year tick of the day.The best of this path is that for most of its length it has lakes on one side and a good hedgerow on the other giving a good mix of birds. Today the hedgerow was relatively quiet with a couple of Bullfinches the best birds seen. On the lakes were the usual mix of wildfowl along with a few Cormorants and grebes. At one point a Curlew was heard but although being able to track its flight from the calling I didn’t manage to see it. A pity as it would have been a county year tick. Three Little Egrets were seen and in the taller trees was a fair sized flock of Redwing. Both Green and Great Spotted Woodpecker were heard but not seen. A Sparrowhawk was seen gliding along the path before it disappeared through the hedge. Reaching the reedbeds I first went into the Wickwater Hide which gives a good view along lake 74. Again all the expected species here with Goldeneye and Shelduck the best. I sat in the Reed Hide and had my sandwich and Pork Pie while watching and waiting for a Bittern to appear. Yeah dream on although this is probably one of the the most likely areas to find one. I did however get a brief view of a Water Rail as it flew across the lake to one of the reeded islands. Also on the water here were The second county year tick. The walk back alongside 68 was pretty quiet with very little on land or water. Next to be viewed was 82 which turned up a few gulls, five Red-crested Pochard and a Snipe on the muddy margins. Then it was back to the car and a drive round to Twitchers for a quick look over 74. Plenty of Pintail and Shoveler to be seen here. A couple of flocks of Lapwing flew in from the north and amongst them were three Golden Plover and best of all a Dunlin. County tick number three. My final stop was Eysey where yet again I failed to find the Oystercatchers.

One response to “Great Walk at the Water Park

  1. One of the reasons I love your diary Malcolm is just when I think I know the birding spots well you bring some new ones to our attention. You know, I’ve never been to those hides. Probably a better view than Twitchers Gate?
    Richard

Leave a Reply

