Another Dreary Day

With the rain not appearing last night as forecast I had hoped that they were wrong about this morning as well. Opening the curtains at around eight I soon saw that they had been right, it looked miserable, low cloud and drizzle. Wonderful. Still I had planned on going out so out I was going to go. I had intended on another walk in Savernake but as it isn’t so good there in the wet chose to head for Froxfield and Chilton Foliat instead. It started well at Froxfield with a couple of Little Egrets on the stream and Red-legged Partridge and Lapwing on surrounding fields. Also here were two Red Kites and a Buzzard.Three Wiltshire year-ticks on the first stop. Walking across the wooden footbridge at Chilton Foliat and into the woods soon got me three Nuthatches and two Great Spotted Woodpeckers. The river was running high and fast but between here and the Widewater I managed a couple more Little Egrets, Little Grebe, Marsh Tit and Jay. Plenty of Mallard and Gadwall around but unusually no Tufties. After visits to the Garden Centre in Hungerford and Cobbs Farm Shop ( at both I resisted putting my hand in my pocket). I then headed for home via Marlborough . A sign outside TH Whites advertising a sale on outdoor clothing tempted me and I came out with a new Craghoppers jacket. I did resist the Deerhunter winter gloves though despite being seriously tempted. Forty pounds was too much to justify spending on them however good they are. As I was leaving the car park a sudden thought that a visit to the Sewage Works could be worthwhile saw me turning left instead of right. My hunch was right, plenty of wagtails included singles of Grey and White, a couple of Chiffchaffs and a Meadow Pipit got me some more Wilts ticks. Finally for the day I took the dog for a walk at Coate. Other than around the diving board and by the dam the main lake was quiet as the rowing club were out. Three Herring gulls were amongst the Black-headed and there were a good number of Great Crested Grebes. The Grey Herons were making plenty of noise around their nest in the trees across from the Dam. The other lake didn’t have much on it either with just a couple of Goosander along with a few other ducks. Rather than retracing my steps I did a circuit around past the floodwater. On here were at least eighty Teal and a few Snipe. In the horse fields I counted fifty-eight Pied Wagtails but I am sure there were a good many more than that to be found. So another good day with six county year-ticks. With seventy-nine now I am getting close to my January best of eighty-four. Hopefully a new high total will be set.

Leave a Reply

