A Walk Too Far

This morning I went for a walk from home along the railway path towards Marlborough. My intention was to walk as far as the helicopter hanger and back, a distance of just over two miles. By the allotments were a few House Sparrows and Chaffinches along with a single Fieldfare. The Fieldfare has set itself up in an apple tree which it aggressively defends from all-comers. There were few birds along the next stretch with a couple of Bullfinches seen and a singing Corn Bunting heard. On reaching the hanger I decided to walk a loop past Chisedon Camp and South Farm. Here I added Redwing and a flock of fifty plus Fieldfare along with five more Bullfinches and a Buzzard. Arriving back at the railway path by the Firs a Green Woodpecker was a surprise addition to the list, next were four Goldcrests and a Treecreeper plus another couple of Bullfinches. Heading back towards home I saw five singing Corn Buntings in the trees alongside the main road and a pair of Yellowhammers bathing in a puddle on the track. In all I saw twenty-five species. I have to admit that I was pretty tired when I got home having walked just over three miles so the rest of the afternoon was spent in front of the TV.

2 responses to “A Walk Too Far

  1. Richard Williams

    Take your time recovering Malcolm….easy does it!

Leave a Reply

