A Gentle Stroll at Coate

As I am unable to drive for a while it will be on the buses for me. A trip to Marlborough yesterday cost me £5.30 but my walk today was a little closer to home. My wife dropped me at Coate Water and I planned to walk to the hides and then come home on the bus. I made a good start on the birding front with Coal Tit, Nuthatch, Mistle Thrush and Jay all seen down by the miniature railway. On the dam end of the lake were all of the usual species. At the Broome Manor end there were four Goosander, three males and a female. Plenty of gulls were loafing on the water with all but a couple being Black-headed. On the other lake, along with the common stuff were Teal, Shoveler, a single Pochard and three more male Goosander. A small flock of Goldfinch and Siskin were flying around and an increase in calls heralded the arrival of a Sparrowhawk. Along towards hide two a Goldcrest was moving along with a flock of Long-tailed Tits. Also seen were Great-spotted Woodpecker, Redwing and Bullfinch. Heading back past the flood water I came up on three Roe Deer. Initially they weren’t aware of me and I got reasonably close before they sensed me. After a few seconds of looking at me they turned and ran.

 

Leave a Reply

