Missing Out

This afternoon after work I headed over to Twitchers Gate for an hour or so. There was one other birder there when I arrived, this was Tony who can usually be found at Coate Water. On asking him if there was much around he said ” there was an Osprey over about fifteen minutes ago”. Rather annoying missing it as I may have been there for it if I hadn’t stopped at Waterhay on the way over. Anyway a scan of the scrape area turned up Shelduck, Shovler, Teal, Lapwing and Little Ringed Plover. Overhead, my first Swift of the year was amongst a large flock of Swallows, In the scrub, Sedge and Cetti’s warbler were heard and my first Whitethroat of the year put in an appearance. While I was scanning the scrape again a raptor flew across my field of vision. I followed it and saw that it was a Hobby, another year tick. We saw it again a few minutes later as it flew low over the water again. The Nightingales weren’t heard while I was there but apparently were in good voice later on in the day. Also no Terns were seen but again a few appeared later on.

Leave a Reply

