Water Park and Liddington Hill

Having finished work early today I spent a couple of hours at the Water Park.First I went to Freeth Mere to see if the Garganey had reappeared. It hadn’t but a couple of Common Terns were a year tick for me. Walking along the Thames Path the air was full of Warbler song with Blackcap, Chiffchaff and Willow Warbler all in good voice. A look in at Kent End got me Oystercatcher for Wiltshire and Common Sandpiper for the year. I didn’t stay long at Twitchers as it was very quiet, the Nightingale wasn’t singing while I was there. I then went to Eysey where there were a few more birds to be seen. Mainly gulls, two hundred and sixteen to be precise. Two each of Little Ringed Plover, Oystercatcher and Shelduck were the best birds along with a few Swallows. A little later on in the afternoon I headed up to Liddington Hill where a few Ring Ouzels had been reported this morning. I managed brief views of two and heard one other chattering away deep in some Hawthorns. Five Wheatear were seen along with good numbers of Mipit, Yellowhammer and Corn buntings. Raptor interest was provided by Buzzards, Kestrels and a Red Kite. A Raven was also seen.,

Leave a Reply

