Whatever the Weather

This afternoon, despite the rain and wind I decided to get out and see some birds. My initial plan was to go to Farmoor for the Red-necked Grebe. Soon after setting off I decided that it wouldn’t be that pleasant at Farmoor so changed my mind and headed off for a tour around the Water Park. Starting at Roundhouse Farm and despite having to look straight into the rain I managed two Little Egrets, two Red-crested Pochard along with a few Teal and Shoveler. Moving on to Eysey where as I arrived the rain stopped and the sky started to clear a little. More Shoveler, some Tufties and three species of gull were the initial sightings on the water. A Skylark started to sing and a Buzzard flew up from the field. Scanning around a Peregrine was found circling around. It flushed five Lapwing  but didn’t seem interested in them. A Green Sandpiper flew up from a pool by the road and a flock of at least seventy Golden Plover flew over. Passing Latton I saw a Red Kite over the fields. Nothing of interest on 301 and 97 so the next stop was Twitchers. Six Shelduck and five Goldeneye were the highlights here with Wigeon, Shoveler and Teal over on the scrapes. A Green Woodpecker flew over calling loudly and a Cetti’s Warbler was heard. Nothing new was seen at Kent End with eleven Red-crested Pochard the best on the water.With forty-six species in the book I decided to try for fifty with a look at the feeders at the Gateway Centre. Maybe because of the wind there were no birds at all on the feeders so I headed off home with nothing else added. A shame to miss out on the grebe at Farmoor but I had an enjoyable couple of hours. I had been thinking of an early morning visit to Farmoor tomorrow but as the forecast looks even worse I may have to stay in bed.

Leave a Reply

