Valleys and Downs

This morning work took me to Treochy in the Rhondda. Stopping by the Rhondda River I had a quick look over the wall and there in the middle of the river was a Dipper. I watched it for a couple of minutes before it flew off upriver. Also seen here were a couple of Goosanders and a Grey Wagtail. On the drive back I was stopped at traffic lights by the river in Pontypridd. And there in the middle was another Dipper. Back at home this afternoon I took the dog for a walk from Folly Farm up to the Ridgeway. Despite a stiff breeze it was fairly warm and I had a very enjoyable walk. It was also fairly productive for birds. Highlights were seven Stonechats and at least six Red Kites. After a couple of poor years it seems that Stonechats have bounced back with a vengeance. I haven’t seen this many here before. This was also the most Kites I have seen in the area. There may well have been more but it was hard to tell if they were the same six birds circling around or more passing through. Two small groups of Fieldfare passed over as did the almost obligatory flock of Starlings heading in the direction of Wootton Bassett. As well as the usual corvids, gulls and tits I saw three Buzzards, a Kestrel, Corn Buntings, Yellowhammer, 3 Roe Deer and a Hare.

Leave a Reply

