Coate Water Wish-list

On a chilly and damp  afternoon I took the dog for a walk around Coate Water. I am ashamed say this was my first proper visit this year. I had a modest wish-list of three species which would all be year ticks. Kingfisher, Green Woodpecker and Ruddy Shelduck, all reasonably regular Coate birds. I started my walk from by the miniature railway and the first thing I noticed was the large amount of gulls around. Many were just loafing around on the ice. In all over both lakes they totalled well into four figures. The most numerous waterbird was Coot. All of the regular water birds were seen along with a single Shelduck. At least fifty Canada Geese noisily made their way into the water from the grass as we approached. Other than corvids and pigeons very few land birds were seen with just a few tits, a couple each of Blackbird, Dunnock and Bullfinch and a small flock of Linnets noted. None of my target birds were seen although the Shelduck was a Wiltshire year tick.

Leave a Reply

