Out on the Ridgeway

Initially I was going to go to Salisbury Plain today, then changed my mind to Fyfield Down but eventually ended up on the Ridgeway at Hackpen Hill.IMG_7333 (1024x682) I had a very pleasant walk with a reasonable amount of birds seen. Nothing spectacular, lots of Blackbirds, Dunnocks, corvids and game birds. I reckon that a lot  must have been recently released. Best bird was my first Stonechat of the year, a female. Also a nice flock of Yellowhammers. Somehow I managed to end up at Barbury Castle again. Just the one SEO this time. I first saw it over the Castle and then found it perched on the information board. Other stuff seen, two each of Kestrel and Buzzard and three reasonable sized flocks of Starlings, again all heading north-west.

2 responses to “Out on the Ridgeway

  1. Great pics of a lovely raptor. But I was disappointed to hear that they are not terribly bright. Is this true? Friend told me she’d been to talk by one of Winterwatch team, who had said that1

    • Don’t know if that is true or not. I guess that if i started standing barefoot on fenceposts and eating roadkill and beetles I would be classed as pretty dumb.

Leave a Reply

