Savernake and Lydiard

This morning i headed off for a couple of chilly hours in Savernake. Pulling off the A4 into the Forest I was greeted by a large amount of bird flying up out of the leaf-litter. about fifty birds which were all Blue and Great Tits. When I parked and got out of the car I could hear both Nuthatch and Great Spotted Woodpecker. The latter drumming. Two Woodpeckers were soon found chasing each other around. The Nuthatch wasn’t seen but I picked up a Marsh Tit whilst looking for it. Heading off along a very wet track I then heard Goldcrests calling. Three were soon found along with a Treecreeper which started to sing. It then went quiet for a while with a overflying Raven being the only bird of interest. Nearing Savernake Lodge it came alive again with more Woodpeckers, two Nuthatch, a Mistle Thrush and a mixed tit flock which included Great, Blue, Long-tailed and several Coal Tits. Heading back towards the car I added Jay to the list. Several more Coal Tits were also seen. Surprisingly no finches around.IMG_7248 (1024x664) I then drove down to the Kennet Valley and soon found some finches. Bullfinch, Chaffinch and Gold finch were all seen. Red Kites and Buzzards were overhead and Mute Swans and Canada Geese were on the wet meadows. IMG_7251 (1024x679)I also saw my first Collared Dove of 2015. For the afternoon dog walk I let my wife choose where we went. I was not surprised when she chose Lydiard Park over Barbury Castle, our destination for the last couple of weeks. Lydiard is a place that I rarely go and I was promised a feast of birds if we did the long walk around the fields. There were plenty but most of them were corvids and pigeons! It was only when we got back around the Lakes that more variety was found. A couple of Little Grebes being the best of the stuff on the water. A family of seven Mute swans were still sticking together on the smaller of the Lakes.

In all a total of forty-two species for the day edging my year total closer to a hundred.

Leave a Reply

