Friday Birding

Today I managed to fit in a good bit of birding amongst all the essential duties. First off was taking the dog for a walk on Liddington Hill. Bracing would be a fair description of the conditions, it was nice and sunny but the wind was cutting. It seemed that the birds had taken the hint and were keeping out of sight. Just a few Meadow Pipits, a couple each of Buzzard, Yellowhammer and Corn Bunting and single Blackbird and Chaffinch were seen. Surprisingly, considering the conditions, I saw about as many Small Tortoiseshell butterflies as I did birds. Early afternoon saw me dodging the showers at Twitchers. A worthwhile visit as I managed to catch up with the Black-tailed Godwits, ten being seen and also got my first Sand Martins of the year. When I arrived it was very overcast with rain showers. This had brought the Sand Martins down low and there were at least three hundred feeding over the lake,once the sky cleared and the sun was out they all moved on. Still a good number of wildfowl around with Wigeon, Shoveler, Pintail and Teal all present in good numbers. Just a single female Goldeneye was found. On the wader fornt, eighteen Lapwing, a handful of Curlew and two Redshank were here in addition to the Godwits. The highlight for me was a Kingfisher which flew across in front of the screen carrying a small fish, presumably it has a mate on eggs. Also a bit of action on land with Long-tailed Tits chasing around, Dunnocks and Chiffchaff singing and a Green woodpecker heard from 95. Later on, after taking my daughter to work in Marlborough I grabbed a coffee and cake from Waitrose and headed for the Downs. Unfortunately my chosen location had a lot of tractor activity so it wasn’t worth staying. Heading back to the main road there was a Grey Wagtail on the Og and still a couple of Swans on the meadows. I finally stopped near to Draycott but it was pretty quiet other than a few Wood Pigeons and a Blue Tit. Not an issue really as it allowed me to concentrate on my Latte ad Butterscotch YumYum, stupid name but a great cake. Buy one and see.

Leave a Reply

