Lakes and then the Hill

With a couple of hours to spare this morning I decided to drive down to the Water Park to check out Lake 30 for the Smew. As mentioned on the CWP Blog the parking pull-in has had some large rocks placed in it to stop parking. I notice that a few others have had the same treatment. Why? It seems quite petty to me. What harm was being done by cars parking here? Anyway on arriving at the lake a quick scan found three redhead Smew on the other side of the water. Plenty of Tufties, Coot and Great-crested Grebes as well. As I didn’t have a great deal of time, instead of doing the longer circular walk I just walked around the lake as I often do. Unbeknown to me the Smew had tucked themselves in under the bank and all flew to the other end of the lake as I approached. A quick look at Lake 29 added a male Goosander to the list. Green Woodpecker was heard a couple of times but not seen. A quick look-in at Lower Mill gave a count of thirty-four Red-Crested Pochard. Then it was back home with a quick look over the fields to the north of Cricklade when I diverted off the main road to get some milk. Just Mute Swans, Canada Geese and gulls on the mainly flooded fields. This afternoon I took the dog up to Liddington Hill. It was a lovely afternoon in the sunshine although a little windy at the top. Not much seen with a Raven being the best bird.  Small flocks of Fieldfare and Starlings flew over and there were a few Yellowhammers and Chaffinches in the bushes and the game cover along the edge of the fields. Checking out the CWP Blog when I got home I was rather embarrassed to see the note requesting people not to walk around Lake 30 so as not to disturb the Smew. I just hadn’t thought about that this morning.

Leave a Reply

