Hunting the Hedgerow

I got myself up to Liddington for and hour or so this morning. I started by walking along the top of the ridge. Fairly quiet with just a couple of small flocks of Linnets, and single Skylark and a Meadow Pipit. Three Swallows passed overhead as did a few LBB Gulls. Dropping down I decided to concentrate on the hedgerow back along to the car. As it usual this time of year it was more heard than seen. I managed brief glimpes of two Redstarts, one a smart male. Also seen were two Chiffchaff, a Great Tit and a Goldfinch. A Yellow Wagtail was initially heard and then seen as it flew high overhead. There were plenty of White Butterflies around and also a single Dragonfly. Looking out of the window as I write this I can see at least a dozen Small Tortoiseshells on the Buddleia along with a couple of Whites.

Leave a Reply

