Quick change of plan

I was giving blood at half two this afternoon so had intended on going to Stanton Park after finishing work at lunchtime. However when I arrived there, for some reason the gates were closed. The option of parking on the grass verge was dismissed as it was so muddy. Instead I headed off to Nightingale Wood. After having my lunch in the car I headed off for an hour or so. There was plenty of birdsong to be heard with three Song Thrushes all competing loudly. They were accompanied by Blackbird, Robin and Dunnock. As I headed down towards Brook Meadow the amount of standing water increased and the amount of birds went the other way. Wishing I had worn my wellies I carried on picking up both Common and Jack Snipe. A nice surprise was a Barn Owl sat out enjoying the afternoon sun. Good to see one that had survived the snow. Greenfinch, Green and Great Spotted Woodpecker were heard but not seen as was  a squealing Water Rail. A small flock of Goldfinches flew over and a few Long-tailed Tits were seen moving through the trees. Back at the car park around twenty noisy House Sparrows were in the hedgerow, I can’t recall seeing them here before. Then it was off to the donor session and home.

Leave a Reply

