Wet feet birding

After work I headed over to Nightingale Wood for a couple of hours birding. The wooded areas near the car park were fairly quiet with just a couple of flocks of Long-tailed Tits seen. Further on by the meadows that had been flooded by the River Cole I put up some Snipe, at least eighteen counted along with a single Jack. Walking alongside the river I was beginning to wish I had put my wellies on as my feet were starting to get wet. Fieldfare, Redwing, Reed Bunting, Bullfinch and Goldfinch were all seen along here. Crossing back across the fields I reached the Roves Farm car park and then took the path back through the woods to the car. Along here I came across a flock of at least seventy birds, mainly Lesser Redpoll with a sprinkling of Goldfinches along with a couple of Siskins. A good way to finish the visit. Driving back into Swindon I noticed a couple of people looking at some trees with binoculars. Making a quick stop I discovered that I had just missed a flock of around twenty Waxwings. Despite driving around the area for a while I couldn’t find them. Then it was a drive out to Barbury Castle hoping for Short-eared Owl. No luck but a Sparrowhawk flashed across in front of me and two Buzzards were seen standing in a field.

Leave a Reply

