Flasks do float!

After I had finished in Sainsburys I went for a walk at Nightingale Wood. It was very quiet to start with very few birds around. A couple of Redpoll were moving around with a flock of Goldcrest and Snipe were seen on the meadow. A few Redwing and Fieldfare were flying around and a Goldcrest was flitting around. On reaching the River Cole I decided to stop for a coffee. While I was faffing around getting some food out of my bag I managed to knock my flask over and could only watch as it bounced down and into the river. Then I had to watch as it floated off towards Lechlade and the Thames. I decided to follow it along the river, as I approached the wetland area I could hear alarm calls. I was half expecting to find a load of small birds mobbing a roosting Tawny Owl, what I actually found was an ongoing ringing session. Moving on the next bird seen was a Kingfisher which flew across a field and into the woods heading for the brook. Next were a couple of Jays, then a Green Woodpecker and the first of five Bullfinches. Then it was off home to spend a couple of pleasant hours tidying up the garden. The local flock of House Sparrows were in full voice, several Pied Wagtails were on the roof of the house and a Robin followed me  around. A bit later I took the dog for a walk to Liddington Hill and along the Ridgeway. First bird seen was a Kestrel, a Red Kite was checking out the fields putting up plenty of Fieldfare as it passed over. A singing Corn Bunting was a surprise. Also seen were Goldfinch, Linnet, Yellowhammer, Meadow Pipit, Blackbird and Chaffinch.

Leave a Reply

