Better than being at work!

Late on Monday I had a text reporting a Red-backed Shrike on the edge of Salisbury Plain. Typically another bird that I wanted to see, (especially as it is needed for my Wiltshire list) found a long way from the weekend. With no chance of getting there before or after work I decided to take a half-day holiday. Work commitments meant Tuesday afternoon wasn’t an option so Wednesday morning was booked off. Of course it showed well on Tuesday so would it stay? I arrived at Weatherhill Firs before eight and started checking out the bushes. After about twenty minutes I caught a movement and sure enough there was the bird, it was dropping into the grass and then back onto the bush. After watching for a few minutes I moved closer to try for some pictures. As I had heard the Shrike was very confiding and didn’t seem at all bothered as I took my photos. I then carried for a short walk. Plenty of birds around with a good amount of Swallows and House Martins overhead. Also seen along with the commoner birds were Skylark, Meadow Pipit, Blackcap and Chiffchaff. Two Stonechat were also seen whilst driving back across the Plain.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 responses to “Better than being at work!

  1. A fabulous bird and a super photo of it, well done you. Wish I had taken the morning off work to see it too. I would always rather be birding than being stuck in the office 😉

    • Hi Lorraine,
      It certainly is a great bird. This is third one I have gone for in Wiltshire so I am very pleased to have finally seen one. All I want now is to find my own one.

  2. Nice photos Malcolm, only managed a grainy digiscope. I might go back with the SLR if it stays

    • Hi Bob,
      Thanks for that. I think that being there early was an advantage as the Shrike was more interested in feeding than looking at me. I was surprised how close I was able to get. It kept on flying down to the ground and then returning to the same perch. I just couldn’t get a pic of it in flight which was a pity.
      Good luck if you go again.

Leave a Reply

