The Weekend

With a busy family based weekend ahead the prospects for birdwatching didn’t look good. And I wasn’t wrong. The first half of Saturday morning was spent shopping in Marlborough and the rest of it, plus a good chunk of the afternoon was spent in the garden. I managed to get out about three and headed up to Liddington Hill to carry out a task that I had been intending to do for ages. For the Millenium  a group built some decking and added a memorial to Richard Jefferies and Alfred Williams next to the The Trig point on the hill. I thought it a shame that they hadn’t repainted the Trig so finally I got around to doing it. To me it now looks a lot better now, restored to it’s original colour. I am still wondering if the base should also be painted. There are traces of paint on it suggesting that at one time it was white. I am thinking that maybe it will be too much and would spoil the look of the whole thing. In the evening it out to town to have an Indian meal for my son’s birthday. On returning home we sat out in the garden until almost midnight. I had already decided not to go on the WOS walk at Oare. I needed to go back to Marlborough so went via Chilton Foliat, not much on the broadwater but a group of fifty-four Canada Geese were on the water to the west of the bridge. Next stop was the wooden footbridge upstream where five Little Grebe plus a few ducks and a Greylag Goose were seen. A couple of Nuthatch were heard, a Chiffchaff was singing and a Green Sandpiper flew over calling loudly. Final stop was at the large pond at Froxfield where eight each of Mallard and Moorhen where counted. A lone House Martin appeared followed by a small flight of Swallows. During the afternoon a couple of Red Kite were seen from home and there were a few Swallows and House Martins about. Early evening I took the dog out and ended up doing just over six kilometres up onto Liddington Hill and back. Four Buzzards and a Kestrel were taking advantage of the wind to soar along the ridge. Best of all were three Wheatear showing well on the fence. Also seen were Meadow Pipit, Goldfinch and a couple more Kestrels.

4 responses to “The Weekend

  1. Richard Williams

    That trig point looks a lot better, Malcolm. Well done. When I am in “dress down” at work I’ll like to get up there one evening before the clocks change. Last year I sat there one autumnal evening and had great close up views of a kestrel.

    • I think it looks a lot better, it is certainly easier to seem from home now, especially in the evening sun. Sometimes you can sit there and not see any birds but it doesn’t really matter. It is nice just to enjoy the views.

  2. Well done Malc – that looks very nice now! If you’ve any paint spare you can do our daughters bedroom ceiling if you like;o)) Was up Barbury doing the butterfly transect last Thursday and saw 3 juv Whinchats on the fence lining the track from the car park to the hill fort – very nice:o)

    • Would love to but have my daughters bedroom to do soon. For some reason I have hardly ever see Whinchat at Liddington.

Leave a Reply

