Wader hunting

Off to Oxford this afternoon to try for the Wood Sandpipers that have been at Port Meadow for over a week. When I got to Oxford I was glad I was on the bike as the traffic was horrendous. I got to Port Meadow at around half-one. Only my second visit here, the previous one was for the Lesser Yellowlegs in 2010. There were loads of Black-headed Gulls on the water and a couple of large flocks of Greylag and Canada Geese on the grass. Apart from the Lapwings the first waders picked out were a group of four Dunlin. This was followed by a couple of Greenshank and the same of Common Sandpiper. I set myself up towards the north end of the water and started scanning the margins. Another Greenshank and two more Common Sandpipers were found along with I think a Little Ringed Plover. Unfortunately no sign of Wood Sandpiper which was the one I wanted. A few Common Tern were around along with eight Little Egrets and two Herons. After an hour and a half I decided to go. I stopped in at Farmoor on the way home and was rewarded with fabulous views of a Turnstone on the causeway. This was the only bird of any note on the whole of the reservoir. So, another enjoyable trip out but the second in a row where I missed the target bird.

 

Leave a Reply

