Another Monday evening bird trip

As this evening looks as it may be the only decent evening of the week I decided to have a drive out. I narrowed my destination down to either Port Meadow Oxford for Wood Sandpiper or Coombe Hill near to Cheltenham for Purple Heron. I plumped for the latter as the Heron would be a UK tick. I stopped in Cricklade for supplies, battered sausage and chips. I arrived at the Coombe Hill car park at around Seven and headed off along the canal to the reserve. On arriving in the hide I was welcomed with the news that the Heron hadn’t been seen since half past three. Anyway there were plenty of other birds around. At one stage there were twenty-six Grey Herons in view along with five Little Egrets. Lapwing numbered at least thirty and around a dozen snipe were seen flying. A few Curlew were moving around and Swift, House and Sand Martins were numerous. I don’t suppose the Swifts will be around much longer. Although it was a shame the Heron didn’t show it was still a worthwhile visit.                   Final sighting of the evening was a Hedgehog whilst I was walking the dog.

Leave a Reply

