An epic circumnavigation

Or as near as you can get to one in north-east Wiltshire. For a change I decided on a different walk with the dog this evening. I headed to the south of Chiseldon to stroll around a large field of Rape. However, things had changed since my previous walk here a couple of months ago. The wide grassy margins were no more and had instead turned into a jungle-like mass of between waist and shoulder high weeds. After no more than half a mile or so of battling the greenery I felt more like David Hempleman-Adams than Bill Oddie. I could have done with swapping my binoculars for a machete. Obviously, if I had been sensible I would have retraced my steps but that would have been the easy way out. On the bird front I managed to see or hear both Common and LesserWhitethroat, Blackcap, Goldfinch, Dunnock, Wren, Blackbird, Song Thrush, Swift and House Sparrow. Eventually I emerged from the undergrowth, wet and covered in greenery. It will be at least another couple of months until the next visit.

Leave a Reply

