Easy tick

Mainly a family day today but managed to sneak out about half five. I headed over to Buscot where a Turtle Dove has been showing well. I turned off of the main road into the village and as I approched the car park I could see the Dove perched on the aeriel of Buscot Manor. Exactly as it was in the picture on the Oxon Bird Log. Just a bit easy for my liking. That said it was a lovely bird and I watched it for quite a while as it flew and perched on various roofs and aeriels. It was purring most of the time which was great to hear. I just hope it manages to find a mate. Although that may be quite unlikely as this is now a rare bird. Also here were Swift, Swallow and House Martin with the Swallows in and out of the garages where they have nested. A stroll down to the weir and lock added Grey Wagtail and little else.                                                                                                          Later on, during a pleasant walk with the do,g I saw Corn Bunting,  Linnet, Yellowhammer, Goldfinch, Skylark and Kestrel. I had hoped that the Quail would be calling but nothing was heard.

Leave a Reply

