Off to buy some veggies.

Although I went shopping last night I had already planned to go to Marlborough to buy my veggies at the market. The simple plan was to walk there and get the bus home. I left home just before eight and headed for the Ridgeway. There were plenty of birds around with flocks of Linnet, Corn Bunting, Yellowhammer and Fieldfare. On reaching the Ridgeway I saw what was to be the best bird of the walk, a ringtail Hen Harrier drifting along in front of me, always a great bird to find. A small group of Bullfinch were nice to see along with plenty of other small birds. Dropping down towards Marlborough, on Poulton Down great views of  half a dozen Red Kite to add to the several Buzzard already seen. Sparrowhawk and Kestrel were added to the list as well. Reaching the Kennet at ‘Minal’ I saw a couple of Little Grebe, a Grey Wagtail and heard a Cetti’s Warbler. On reaching Marlborough I did my bit of shopping and was contemplating going for a well deserved pint. However the X5 bus  was due, so I decided to get off home. For the sum of £3.30 (no wonder people don’t use the bus) I headed home adding Lapwing to the day list which ended up at forty species seen plus three more heard. Not bad for a nine mile walk and just over four hours from start to finish.

One response to “Off to buy some veggies.

  1. What a great way to tick all boxes at once…a good walk, great birds and a bit of shopping.
    When you are retired your £3.50 fare will be free!!

Leave a Reply

