Birds and Dragons

First stop today was Blakehill to see if the Wryneck was still around. As I arrived I saw Robin looking for Brown Hairstreaks along the lane and he said that he hadn’t seen it. Neither did I but I notice that it is reported again on Birdguides. Still had a pleasant walk and a good few birds were seen. Two female Redstarts were the best with a smart Lesser Whitethroat running them a close second. At least a dozen Chiffchaffs and Willow Warblers two Reed Buntings and a Great Spotted Woodpecker were amongst the other species noted. Also seen were a couple of Slow Worms. There were also masses of Blackberries and Sloes in the hedgerow.

At ten to eleven the first of two  U2 Dragon Ladies due to leave Fairford today was heard taking off. This was my cue to head back to the car as the other one was due to depart at 12.00. After a quick look at the War Memorial I headed off

to Fairford arriving in good time to enjoy seeing the U2 depart.

With time to spare before starting work I had time for a bit more birding. Around ninety Lapwing, 3 Greenshank a Green Sandpiper and four Little Egrets were at 306 and at 305 I watched two Hobbies gorging on dragonflies. Only a small number of birds here again with just two each of Little Egret and Heron, a few gulls and Mallard and three Mute Swans.

Leave a comment